Any nursing mothers who successfully lost weight safely?

Options
So I'm a proud mother to an amazing 3 month old, whom I've been nursing exclusively. I've heard breastfeeding burns 500 calories a day, so it should help with weight loss. I've started training a couple of weeks ago, and I'm still building up my fitness levels.
Pregnancy made me gain 20kg (a lot of pounds lol) and 10cm on my hip and waist.
While my stomach seems to be pulling in, when I weigh myself I either maintain at 95kg or gain a few hundred grams.
I think my problem is eating habits (feel like starving after nursing sessions), any helpful ideas to curb cravings, keep energy levels up, and get fit in a healthy way?

Replies

• ClaresTime
    ClaresTime Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Congratulations on your baby!

I suck at dieting but I'm a pro at breastfeeding so might be able to help! Are you sure you're hungry and not thirsty? Nursing always made me feel hungry until i realised I was confusing thirst and hunger so maybe try and increase your fluids.

I think I read that when exclusively nursing your body needs an extra 300-500 calories a day. With both of my boys I managed to loose quite a bit of weight by eating well and adding extra calories when needed, the trick was making sure the extra calories were in more substantial food like porridge oats, fruit etc and staying away from the easy fix cake cravings ;)
  • farahrahm
    farahrahm Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    Thanks for replying:)
    I have noticed the thirst thing, I even sleep with water at my bedside, and have started to have a glass water before every meal or snack,. Currently I drink about three and a half litres of water daily. Drinking the extra water helped to decrease snacking a bit.

Its so hard to eat healthy sometimes when you feel like you dont even have enough time to slice a cucumber lol. Not to mention post partum body image...

It is comforting to hear that the weight does go back off!
  • 3proud