From Paleo to IIFYM

Options
I've been using MFP on and off for a few years now, but I'm finally sticking to it more permanently. Here's my story:

In late 2012 I took a long hard look at myself and realized I just wasn't happy with my body. I was 5'2" and 130 lbs which isn't bad, but I was skinny fat. I was terribly out of shape and just didn't look healthy. So I began looking around and started with doing some HIIT workouts I found through pinterest (bodyrock.tv). I found that I loved HIIT! It was the first time I enjoyed exercise. I was doing things I'd never done before: jump squats, burpees, pushups. I was loving it. I also began to eat a Paleo diet. By August 2013 I was down to 115 lbs. I hadn't counted a single calorie. I felt amazing. I held steady at 115 lbs until about April 2014. By July 2014 I was back up to 127 lbs. I was not happy. I think what happened is that I wasn't doing proper portion control.

So in August I began looking around MFP again and I've learned a lot. I bought a food scale and WOW! has that been eye opening. I have definitely been over eating in the past. I've also dumped the paleo diet and am sticking to IIFYM. I like the idea of not seeing certain foods as "bad" which I did on Paleo. It just seems like a healthier and happier mindset. Anyway, I've only been doing this for a couple of weeks, but I already feel much better. I've lost 3 lbs so far which is a lot for my stats. My pants don't feel like they're cutting off my circulation anymore either. I'm sticking to a 1400 calorie diet for now which feels just right. I began at 1200, but felt like I was starving so upped it to 1400. As for exercise, I'm doing strength training at the gym 2-3 days a week and cardio 3 days a week.

I'm looking forward to learning more on this crazy journey.

Replies

• mckaytobe
    mckaytobe Posts: 56 Member
    Options