Help! I Gained My Weight Back From Muscle

Options
Hello,

I really need help because I am very confused right now and I am still a beginner to MFP. I am currently 160 and I lost 5 llbs. Everyday I stay within my low calorie diet and I exercise at least 5 days a week with 45 mins to an hour cardio and also do strength training. I stood on the scale and I am back to 160 again and I know it is because I have gained muscle. I know I lost weight and I feel smaller but I was wondering how do I record my weight if I am constantly gaining from muscle and how do I see that I am getting to my goal? Should I stop strength training and just do cardio so I can lose then do strength training later? I just dont understand how to record my weight on MFP because eventually I'm going to have to record it someday to keep track of my diet but how if I am gaining please help what do I do?

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    you may have gained weight from water retention, but you havent gained 5lb of muscle.
  • renevate
    renevate Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Gaining muscle weight is much better than losing fat or water weight. Reason being, muscles burn fat when they are worked. You will initially gain weight, but then will begin losing again. DON'T STOP!
    Rather measure yourself - that way you can see inches lost rather than weight
  • simplydelish2
    simplydelish2 Posts: 726 Member
    Options
    How do you know you are within calorie range? Your diary just shows a quick add of your MFP allotted calories every day.

It takes months and months of the correct exercises to gain 5 lbs. of muscle. You may very well be smaller - exercising helps tone and tighten the body. However, toning does not equal muscle gain.

My guess is that you are not being honest with yourself regarding your intake and most likely are not eating at a deficit. In addition, you may be holding some water.