I am trying to lose 80lbs and I am just starting out...

Options
I am 22 years old and I am starting my first true weight-loss attempt of 80 lbs. I have always been within a healthy weight range until I went to college and my weight skyrocketed. I have tried weight-loss attempts before (weight watchers, jenny craig, etc.) but was never really into it. Now that graduation is a couple of months away and the job hunt is beginning, I know it is time to turn my life around. Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks!

Ally

Replies

• Buttsmom
    Buttsmom Posts: 351 Member
    Options
    Welcome!!! Logging everything really helps keep me on track with my food, every time I think about eating something I think about if it will put me over for the day. I love the challenges here, they help motivate me on the days I might not feel like doing anything. Good luck on your journey.
  • acvierling
    Options
    Thanks! Maybe we can be weight-loss buddies! I need some helpful friends :)
  • kimmiebear70
    kimmiebear70 Posts: 384 Member
    Options
    Welcome to MFP! This is a great place to get motivation and support.
  • sweetie89207
    Options
    i too am about 22 (1 week lol) and im about to graduate college in May!!! so i'd love to be friends to help u out on your journey back to normality! haha...welcome to MFP
  • merimeaux
    merimeaux Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    I have a similar goal, and my weight also got out of control in college after I was anorexic for several months. Since starting this journey in late May of this year, I've made some major lifestyle changes with my diet and exercise and have been successful so far, so feel free to add me :) We can keep each other motivated!
  • colochel
    colochel Posts: 263 Member
    Options
    Welcome to MFP! I look to this site for inspiration almost daily -- and it works for me. I, too, have about the same # of lbs to go, and just started around Thanksgiving. :) Good luck to you on this journey!