Exercise calories? Help?

Options
So, when I first started here I read a few articles that talked about eating your exercise calories and how it was a good thing. A few friends of mine are running a weight loss email group and I mentioned to them that I didn't eat all of my exercise calories one day, and I was instantly berated about how by doing that I'm eating all the calories back and won't lose weight. I'm really, really confused now and was hoping someone could explain this fully to me? Should I not eat them, or should I eat them? I try to stick to 1,500 calories a day, but often burn between 400-800 with workouts.

Replies

• agab67
    Options
    Seems to me that at 1500 calories a day you're still set to lose a pound a week, right?
    So if you run for an hour and burn 500 calories, you could eat 2000 calories that day and still lose that pound a week. I'm no expert, but my understanding is that if you start losing weight too fast by being way under calorie, then your body will totally pack it all right back on the second you drop your guard because it thinks you've gone through a survival incident and wants to store fat for the future.
  • cerysrhi
    cerysrhi Posts: 262
    Options
    your net calories should be above 1200 so if you eat 1500 and burn between 400 and 800 cals you are not above the 1200 minimum your body needs to be able to function properly. your body could go into starvation mode and will store fat instead of burn it. In answer to your question you will need to eat your exercise cals to bring your net cal intake to above 1200 thats not to say you have to eat all of them but because this site has already set deficit in your daily calories you should still achieve your weight loss weekly goal even if you eat all of your exercise cals or don't exercise at all.
  • liscar
    liscar Posts: 311 Member
    Options