P90X and Supliments?

Options
I'm just getting into the crazy world of P90X and was wondering what the rest of you do for supplements? I know there is a lot of talk about it in the videos and material, but is that more of a sales push or something my body actually needs? I don't want to have to go out and spend more money if it is not really necessary. What are your thoughts?

Replies

• familyfit808
    Options
    I have been working out with P90X for almost a month and lost 10 pounds already. I haven't been taking any supplements, but I have been on Shakeology. If you're interested, I could give you more information on how all of it has helped me with my weight loss.
  • pyro13g
    pyro13g Posts: 1,127 Member
    Options
    They are unnecessary to do the program. A recovery drink of some kind would be beneficial. Theirs or the many others out there.
  • bsoxluvr
    bsoxluvr Posts: 183 Member
    Options
    They are unnecessary to do the program. A recovery drink of some kind would be beneficial. Theirs or the many others out there.

So are the "recovery drinks" similar to whey protein shakes? That's what I currently use after workouts with weights.
  • pyro13g
    Options
    Recovery drinks are specially formulated with a carb to protein ration of 4:1

http://www.accelsport.com/product-info/EnduroxR4.html

Some have Bcomplex vitamins but I like those before a workout or after workouts when I still have a lot of my day left to get through(like after morning workouts.
  • dalbers
    Options
    If your goal is weight loss I see no merit in a recovery drink at all. Just have a good diet :)

If your goal is performance development, that is another matter. Carb/Protein drinks are proven beneficial for performance.
  • pyro13g
    Options
    If your goal is weight loss I see no merit in a recovery drink at all. Just have a good diet :)

If your goal is performance development, that is another matter. Carb/Protein drinks are proven beneficial for performance.