Gym Vs. Buying Equipment

Options
I need some opinions...

At home I have a bike and a 100 pound weight set.. Have I used them in the past month??? No.

So... Im thinking of joining a gym. But I could also buy more equipment...

What are the benefits of a gym...vs having equipment at home???

What is your personal experience with gyms vs having equipment at home???

I sure yall get what im asking... lol

Replies

• rks6902
    rks6902 Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    At home I have an elliptical, recumbant bike, weight bench, punching bag, incline bench for sit ups, an aerobic step and a TV, DVD, all in my basement. I like having a home gym for the convenience, can work out in my jammies, can watch a movie of my choice while riding my bike and do laundry at the same time.

The company I work for provides an onsite full gym (but no pool) and I have been using that for the last month. The advantage to using the gym is the higher quality equipment. I asked the trainer there and the treadmills are close to $10K and the ellipitcals are $3500. So the machines are a much better quality than the average person including myself can purchse for use at home. Plus the morning news at the gym is on the local channel that I like the least.

So both can be good depending on your preferences and what is important to you. It is nice to work out right after rolling out of bed and just stumble down the stairs, but that darn elliptical at the gym glides so much more smoothly. So I guess my answer is that I like both for different reasons.
  • NOLAdy
    NOLAdy Posts: 133 Member
    Options
    Having one at home has it's pros and cons. At home you can get distracted easily. But, you also have the freedom to workout whenever you feel like it. If I had an extra room, or a big garage I'd get some equipment.
  • homepl8279
    Options
    LiLi,