Eating when you're sick

Options
Ok, thought I'd beat the nasty bug that took down my roommates, nope, two weeks after the last one was feeling ill, but wham, last night I felt like crap, today it's not much better. . .

I'm trying to find something that sounds good to eat to hit my calories. .will not hitting your calories once or twice bad? Or am I OK if I just go sleep this crud off?

Replies

• Crowhorse
    Crowhorse Posts: 394 Member
    Options
    I've been hit by a nasty bug. I'm still recovering from it, and I'm having a nasty time trying to eat my calories and do my exercise. I had a hard time stomaching some PB toast (just one slice) this morning. It was not sitting well.
  • kimzxx
    kimzxx Posts: 21
    Options
    Im sure the saying is:

"Starve a fever....feed a cold"

I'm not a doctor lol so I could be completly wrong but I've always thought if you can't keep anything down you shouldn't eat for 24 hours from the last time you were sick.. or if you feel like you could eat just dry bread with nothing on it (no butter etc.)

If you have a cold then you should eat as normal, especially hot healthy soups!

Oh. .and drink lots of water with both!

Although I could be wrong lol Just what I've always been told.

Feel better soon :flowerforyou:
  • catcrazy
    catcrazy Posts: 1,740 Member
    Options
    If its a stomach bug then you are better off not forcing food down. If you vomit you will lose more fluids...do not worry about starvation mode etc, it doesn't kick in that quickly.
  • judz46
    judz46 Posts: 359 Member
    Options
    I think listen to your body...if you don't feel like eating then don't but dry crackers and toast are good..You'll probably just feel like something light like custard, rice puddings, scrambled egg etc....yuuuuk I know.
  • mielikkibz
    mielikkibz Posts: 552 Member
    Options