Would like some friends.....I am a physical therapist with c

Options
Would love to make friends and share my story with others that have had similar experiences.

I am a physical therapist from Wisconsin. I have always been active and healthy which is why I became a physical therapist until 5 years ago. I started to have pain and the more I would exercise the worse the pain would get. I ended up having to stop the thing I love the most which is exercising due to pain. I became depressed and started to gain weight. I got to the point that just getting out of bed and walking in the morning would result in intense pain.

I finally got correctly diagnosed after seeing over 8 doctors in 3/2010 with bilateral congenital hip dysplasia. I just had periacetabular osteotomy surgery for congenital hip dysplasia (Left hip 1/6/11 and Right hip 4/29/10) to help correct the weight bearing forces through both hips.

I am fortunate to have a great background of knowledge to know what exercises I can and can't do. I am ready to start rehab and lose weight to help my hips. I know I will have pain probably off and on the rest of my life but I do not want to get depressed about it any longer. I want to be able to be as healthy and active as I can. I know I will not be able to do high intensity exercises or running but there are several other options available. I also want to get to a healthy weight in order to have a healthier pregnancy when we are ready to have a family.

Thanks for reading.....please add me as a friend.

April

Replies

• jlewis2896
    jlewis2896 Posts: 763 Member
    Options
    Wisconsin represent!! I live in Rice Lake. :)

Also I am studying radiography and have done some clinical work with the orthopedics department at Luther in Eau Claire, so I'm a tad bit familiar with hip dysplasia.

Good for you for not letting this set you back. Very inspirational!!
  • amyoliver85
    amyoliver85 Posts: 353 Member
    Options