Am tired of struggling

Options
I am tired of struggling with weight loss. Found this site through a friend of a friend on FB. I am 63, overweight and out of shape. Weight has always been a struggle for me. Right now I need to lose about 35 lbs. I want to lose weight in a healthy way and realize I can't do it alone. Weight watchers or other groups like that are out of the question - my finances won't allow it.
One of my biggest problems is I like to eat bad-for-me foods. I have never been a big veggie eater but am trying.
The only two times in my life In really lost weight was when I was young and wanted to join the Army - went on a starvation diet - I lost enough to pass the entrance physical, but quickly put the pounds back on. The other time was when I had Graves disease and my thyroid went haywire.

I am a substitute teacher and want to also get more physically active too.

K

Replies

• Suzy12
    Suzy12 Posts: 284
    Options
    I like your honesty!! You can do this! I am 58 and also sub-teach, as well as other jobs. Instead of saying "I don't like veggies" try narrowing it down. I don't like radishes for instance. Then you'll probably happen on some veggies you really DO like (no, I don't mean potatoes) LOL. Same thing with fruit. You'll find a balance in the things you really do like. And I firmly believe there is NOTHING I have to "give up." If we do eat out, we share a dessert. Or I'll take a couple of bites of hubby's and truly taste it. There....I'm satisfied.

I also found that when I started really watching the carbs, the weight was coming off. And I got to eat cheese, and I love cheese!! So I feel like I'm cheating a bit, but my cal #'s are usually fine.

I tried to stop thinking of this as a negative thing, e.g. "I can't have this, I can't have that." And turned it to more positive. "I am worth this because I really love my grandkids and want to be around to see them AND be able to keep up with them."

Bottom line - WE'RE WORTH IT!!!