Can't I lose more than .9lb a week?

Options
So I told the MFP calculator that I wanted to lose 2lb a week. It calculated me to lose .9lb a week.

Do I really have to lose weight this slowly??

I am 5'2" and 137lb. (138lb when I started over a week ago... but, MFP's predictions have been accurate and I've lost a pound so far.) I need to be down to about 125lb total.

It has me eating a net calorie intake of 1200. So, the days I don't exercise, I'm only supposed to eat 1200 calories, right?

That seems a little low but I exercise most days so that I can eat about 1400 and that seems about right. Will I really only lose .9lb a week this way? I guess I'm just new to this... I'm used to crash dieting and then gaining it all back. I'll eat less than 1,000 calories a day and only like veggies and fruits and chicken for awhile and be like, "woo hoo, I lost 4lbs in two days!" I might even do that-- along with training for races-- for a few weeks or months and be down to about 130. But then the minute I stop being extreme about it, I gain it all back, and often more.

So I want to do this the right way but I'm just wondering if there's any way I could lose 2 pounds a week, which I hear is normal for a diet.

Replies

• neeterskeeter
    neeterskeeter Posts: 571 Member
    Options
    So I told the MFP calculator that I wanted to lose 2lb a week. It calculated me to lose .9lb a week.

Do I really have to lose weight this slowly??

I am 5'2" and 137lb. (138lb when I started over a week ago... but, MFP's predictions have been accurate and I've lost a pound so far.) I need to be down to about 125lb total.

It has me eating a net calorie intake of 1200. So, the days I don't exercise, I'm only supposed to eat 1200 calories, right?