Do I eat my workout calories?

Options
Hi everyone, I'm new here and new to counting calories. I need a little guidance regarding my caloric intake. If I'm supposed to eat 1300 a day, but I workout and burn 400, do I actually have to eat 1700 calories for that day? Do I eat back the calories I burned?

Replies

• amyrc12
    amyrc12 Posts: 183 Member
    Options
    search the message boards - there are a lot of discussion out there about eating your workout calories!
    Hope this helps!
  • ZebraHead
    ZebraHead Posts: 15,207 Member
    Options
    If you are using the MFP profile and following it daily calorie guidelines based on your settings then I would say yes you should eat most of them back.

I am no expert. I have read this here and elsewhere on the web. And it really does work (for me).

Happy journey!
  • heperry42
    Options
    I personally try not to, as it means I have more chance of losing weight, but it's like a buffer, I would assume you can eat them, but it defeats the object of excersizing
  • ChelDM
    ChelDM Posts: 145
    Options
    I don't EVER eat my workout calories and have been losing each week so my body isnt in starvation mode...Keep in mind 1pound=3500 calorie deficit...
  • dragonbug300
    dragonbug300 Posts: 760 Member
    Options
    Read this post:
    http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/153704-myth-or-fact-simple-math-3500-calories-one-pound-eat

The general summary is: yes, eat your exercise cals.

BUT keep in mind that MFP usually overestimates the amount you burn during exercise, and humans have a tendency to underestimate how much we ate. I usually like to leave 100 or so cals of leeway (on my good days).
  • MelHoneyRocks
    Options
    I always eat mine and I have doubled my goal of what I would like to lose.
    I recommend it, but you can do what works for you best.
  • nyctraveler
    nyctraveler Posts: 305 Member
    Options