THE COFFEE/CAFFEINE QUESTION

Options
Does coffee have any effect on your metabolism in a negative way? I was told that coffee hinders weight loss. Any information on this will be much appreciated. I completely stopped coffee/caffeine but I truly love my java. Help please!

Replies

• kelika71
    kelika71 Posts: 778 Member
    Options
    I'm not a scientist, but I drink 2-4 cups a day. I can't remember where I read or heard it, but there's some suggestion that coffee can prevent/aid in Diabetes. I don't have the facts for that, but I know my mother drank it like crazy and never had Diabetes. My father rarely drank it and he had it. Coincidence? Perhaps. There are claims it contains antioxidants.

Personally, I think you can have anything as long as it's not excessive.
  • sdwsara
    sdwsara Posts: 16
    Options
    im going to assume the sugar is what is bad, and the creamer? i mean people drink redbulls and what not ... drink ur coffee! i highly doubt ur not going to reach ur goal from drinking coffee LOL!
    better yet just drink that all the time and dont eat .... j/k :tongue:
  • Naomi91
    Naomi91 Posts: 892 Member
    Options
    I have heard the opposite, that 2-4 cups a day can help weight lost since it has a thermogenic effect.
  • iitsolivia
    Options
    I recently purchased the book "Skinny B*tch" and I highly recommend it as long as you aren't easily offended. It has great facts in it, but has quite a bit of foul language. I purchased it off alibris.com cheap. Anyways, in this book it says caffeine stores fat, and that you should wean yourself off of it.
    BUT then I read a magazine article in Self i believe, where Jillian Michaels (biggest loser trainer) said coffee is okay, as long as it is used with no cal sweetener and no cream.
    So I'm not sure which to believe. I'd say experiment with it and see what works for you. I'm going to try the Skinny B*tch lifestyle and see what works!
  • kelika71
    Options