Whole Chicken--Crock Pot

Options
hi there!! I wanted to cook a whole chicken in the crock pot this week and I keep seeing that I can cook the bird frozen...is that possible or do I cook with 1-2 cups of stock/water??

I'm so confused..lol, I'm new to crock pot cooking so I just don't want to ruin a whole chicken on my cluelessness (sp?)

HELP ME

Replies

• mom2boys
    mom2boys Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I do this same thing too, but cook in it water. I'm curious to know the answer too.
  • JenWorthen3
    JenWorthen3 Posts: 64 Member
    Options
    Yeah, just be sure to give yourself LOTS of time if you're cooking from frozen. My favorite way to do it is to just put the bird in, cover it with a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce and let it cook all day. It doesn't look like much when it's done because the whole thing is just falling apart, but it's SO yummy!
  • tsimehc2000
    tsimehc2000 Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    What is a good time if it is frozen and what is a good time if it is thawed?
  • ckmama
    ckmama Posts: 1,668 Member
    Options
    I never add water because the chicken fat and fluid.

You can ball up some aluminum foil balls and put at the bottom of the crockpot and the grease etc will drip down off of the chicken.
  • hroush
    hroush Posts: 2,073 Member
    Options
    I throw frozen chicken breasts in all the time (usually 6 lbs) on high and they are still done in 4 hours. I always put in more than the allotted amount of water because everything will cook better and it's bad for the crock pot to not have enough water. I say cover the chicken in water, turn it to high, and then dump out some of the excess if you want to.
  • deal4321
    deal4321 Posts: 25 Member
    Options