Zumba

Options
2»

Replies

• jkohan
    jkohan Posts: 184 Member
    Options
    I'm also a Zumba instructor (hi sl0327!) and as someone who comes from no dance background at all, I absolutely love it! I may not have the best dance moves out there, but i bring it to every class and have a blast! Zumba is a great workout and definitely breaks up the monotony of your workout! Keep in mind that every instructor is different, so if you try one Zumba class and don't like it, don't be afraid to try another!

DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY CALORIES ARE BURNT DURING ZUMBA?

I've burned as little as 458 and as high as 728 (last night, in fact). I'm 5'5" and 236lbs. And those are via a Polar HRM.
  • sl0327
    sl0327 Posts: 14
    Options
    I am an instructor, so I am a bit biased. It is a great workout. I do other things, because it is not an exercise fix in and of itself. It is a great cardio workout to break up the monotony of your routine. I tend to think people lean a little too heavily on it for total fitness though.

I do Zumba 3-4x a week but I also work with a trainer 2x a week and do c25k 3x a week--but I'm a bit crazy like that...However, I don't understand your comment.

For those that don't exercise regularly, any activity that will burn 500+ calories is a good one. If you mean in it's best to do in conjunction with weight/strength training I would agree...but doing zumba a few times a week for cardio is fine. I see no difference between doing zumba a few times a week vs. getting on the treadmill/ellptical for cardio. What am I missing?

Weight training is precisely what I am referring to. People tend to focus very intently on cardio, but not weight training. In fact, weight training and building lean muscle actually provides more benefits for your metabolism.
  • dianarae82
    Options