Options
fayelein
fayelein Posts: 51 Member
Hey, I'm new to myfitnesspal.

Started calorie counting on Saturday and so far it's going really well. If anything i'm eating too few calories (about 900 a day) so I do need to work on that after first weigh in this Saturday to make sure I'm getting all the nutrients I need. My idea is 1000-1200 a day for it to be healthy.

Any general advice and tips?

I'm currently obsessed with looking at the calorie content of food and looking online for advice. Were you guys like this when you first started?

My aim is to loose around 80lbs in around 8-9 months which is 2-2.5lbs loss a week.

Thanks for any help and support :)

Replies

• fayelein
    Options
    Also I have read a "cheat meal" once per week helps keep your metabolism going.

Do any of you do this and does it help?
  • savvynurse
    savvynurse Posts: 292
    Options
    I eat all my allotted calories....I don't always eat ALL my exercise calories however I eat some of them too. When I end up UNDER my cal goal I am usually under only about 150 or so cals. If I don't eat them then I feel as if I am depriving myself.
    I too am always looking at cals and figuring out what I can and CAN'T eat. I usually log all my food the night before that way I know how much wiggle room I have for the day. And if I know I am REALLY close to going over I make for certain I work out. For me the best motivator for working out is being able to snack around if I want to.:smokin:
  • fayelein
    Options
    Thank you! Haven't thought about planning and logging the food beforehand - definitely going to try that! :)
  • valz2000
    valz2000 Posts: 78 Member
    Options