What's your opinion on "treats" & "snacks"?

Options
I'm just curious...what do you think about incorporating treats and snacks into your diet? I'm not talking about "healthy" snacks....I'm talking about candy, cookies, etc.

I'll start...
I track everything I eat. Between WW & MFP, I've been doing this for 14 months now. My feeling is that this is not a diet, or a temporary thing until I get the weight off. I will have to do this forever. I generally try to eat pretty well incorporating as many whole foods as I can into my day. I don't do too many processed foods, but I haven't completely excluded them out of my diet either.
In order to maintain this lifestyle "forever", for me, it is unrealistic to say that I will never eat a piece of candy or a rice crispy treat again. So, I will eat a treat or two several times a week. For example, on two different nites this week, I allowed myself 2 Bullseyes (creme-filled caramel candies). My darling husband likes to bring me boxes of Junior Mints or mini charleston chews. I throw them in the freezer and once in a while I will allow myself a serving (I think 14 of them?). Having said this, I realize that there are people out there who can not handle eating just 1 or 2 of something and I can't imagine how difficult this must make things :(

Opinions?

Replies

• JennsLosing
    JennsLosing Posts: 1,026
    Options
    i agree...cant completely deny yourself!
  • sargent1976
    sargent1976 Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    I am trying to avoid snacks for as long as i can. Saying that i am definitely not planning on living without them. My problem is 1 cookie is not enough. I end up eating the whole packet and then hey presto, off the wagon. Since i joined MFP 66 days ago (not that i'm counting!) I haven't eaten any snacks. I'm too scared because i know how weak i am around tasty treats. Hopefully I will learn to eat them in moderation, but for the time being i have told myself 'i'm allergic'.
  • nukehiker