(5 ingredients) Amazing Stuffed Chicken Breasts (Low carb)

Options
lcamero2
lcamero2 Posts: 52
I love making this chicken when I am going to have a busy week and want to making something easy and that will last me a few days. I am a novice cook, and not that great at cooking, but everyone in my family says this is one dish that tastes great :)

I basically change the amounts in the recipe based on how much I am making but here is what I generally use.

3 large chicken breasts
Bell peppers (chopped; one of each: red, green, orange
1 red onion (chopped)
half a large bag of fresh spinach
italian or mozzarella cheese (you need to use your eye as a measuring tool.... add more or less to your taste)
and 2 tbs extra virgin olive oil (just for the pan)

1) Thaw the chicken breasts and drain the fat and chicken juice. Set over to 425 degrees F.
2) Saute the bell peppers and onions until slightly soft and empty into medium sized bowl.
3) Wilt the spinach in olive oil (start with a small bunch and add more as it wilts) and then add and melt cheese until desired ...cheesiness i guess.. is attained, and separate mixture into bowl.
4) Make a slit in the chicken breasts from one side to the other (like making a pocket out of the breast) and stuff with the cheese and spinach filling. Can hold closed with toothpicks if needed.
5) Put chicken breasts into a pan and cover the breasts with the bell peppers and onions.
6) Add some cheese to the top of the vegetables, cover in tinfoil, and bake for 45-50 minutes..

The chicken cooks in its own juices and is so tender you can cut it with a fork. Mushrooms can also be added on top :)

If you try this out.. msg me to tell me what you think :)

Whole recipe:
1735 cal / 38g carbs / 68.4g fat / 226.8 g protein

**** 1 serving = half a breast (4 oz)
289 cal / 6.3g carbs / 11.4g fat (all healthy from chicken and cheese) / 37.8g protein :)

Replies

• crystal_sapphire
    crystal_sapphire Posts: 1,205 Member
    Options