Confused - Got a HRM today - big difference why?

Options
Hi everyone!
I am a newbie as of 2 days ago and think this site is realy going to help me lose the 20 lbs or even more i need to lose to make me feel good about myself!

I wanted to ask a question about Heart Rate Monitors - i walk uphill incline on my treadmill for 35 mins "almost" daily and have always just used the heart rate sensor on the treadmill and went by the calories it showed i was burning.
When i started this site the calories the treadmaill was showing and the calories the search feature on this site was showing were pretty dead on.

Well today i used my HRM for the first time - did the exact same thing i usually do on my treadmill and the calories burned were way different!
HRM showed i burnt 488 in the 35 mins and the search feature on this site only shows 287 - thats 200 calorie difference!

What do you think is correct? 488 just seems pretty high as i am used to only seeing around 250-300.

anyone else find this when comparing HRM to the site?

Thanks!!

Replies

• sandram82
    sandram82 Posts: 615 Member
    Options
    HRM with a chest strap is much more accurate than a machine or this site!!!
  • Shelle68
    Shelle68 Posts: 432 Member
    Options
    I am interested in other's input on this one. I have wondered if that was possible. Hope you find your answers.
  • autumn13
    autumn13 Posts: 295
    Options
    Everyone body is different..I could do the same thing and burn less..Just depends on the person...Go with the HRM.
  • Gargoyle69
    Gargoyle69 Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    average the two if you don't have confidence in a single source
  • cath1024
    cath1024 Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    i was thinking that the HRM would be alot more acurrate but does that not seem pretty high - 488 alories for 35 mins walking at 3.0 on inclines of 2,3,4, and 5?
  • ramseyrose
    ramseyrose Posts: 421 Member
    Options