Increased hunger before period

Options
Hi. I'm fairly new to my fitness pal. Initially, I just used it to look up calories in various foods, but now I am finally using it to track my daily caloric intake.

I am 10 days away from my period and I noticed that I am much hungrier than I usually am. I have noticed this trend for the past four months now... 7-10 days before my period I began to feel hungry all day long (for 2-3 days). My appetite is insatiable. I could spend the whole day snacking and still not feel full. The biggest problem is that if I try to ignore it and wait for my next meal, I get a stomach ache because I am so hungry. I just started tracking my calories so I can lose another 15 pounds, so I have been very cautious about what I am eating and I do not eat anything other than what I have planned for the day, but I get terrible stomach aches.

Does anyone else experience the same problem? Is this a common problem? What is the reason for the increase in hunger? What can I do about it (besides eat)?

Thanks.

Replies

• FaithandFitness
    FaithandFitness Posts: 653 Member
    Options
    I don't know why either, but mine is just a day or two aroud the start ofmine. Seriously! It is insane! I just try to have good chocolate around me and salty things like almonds. Try to keep your snacks as healthy as possible. I know what you are saying!
  • lilawolf
    lilawolf Posts: 1,690 Member
    Options
    Well your body is preparing to feed a baby. While you may eat more calories during this time, it goes to nutrient rich blood and not to fat. If your stomach hurts, it is your body saying it is not getting what it needs and that you need to eat more. I would suggest more fat, protein, and high iron foods during this time so that you do not become anemic. Your body is asking for more nutrients, and if you don't provide them it will take them from your muscles, hair, nails, and organs. Please feed it.
  • lilawolf
    lilawolf Posts: 1,690 Member
    Options