College student looking for healthy quick-fix meals

Options
Hello all!

I've just started on here; my brother showed me this website, and it looks like a fun and easy way to keep track of my exercise and weight goals/food intake.

I'm a college student, and this semester I cancelled my meal plan, with the expectation that I would eat much healthier left to my own devices. For the most part, this worked - I eat better quality meals. However, I've discovered two things: it's much harder to keep food in a dorm-sized fridge than I thought, and that all my meals are centered around carbs, because they are the easiest to make (cereal in the morning, a sandwich for lunch, pasta for dinner...so on). I was wondering if anyone had some favorite quick-fix recipes that can help me introduce more protein/veggies to my diet? I'd like to start eating more "rounded" meals.

Thank you!

Replies

• chauncyrenayCHANGED
    chauncyrenayCHANGED Posts: 788 Member
    Options
    Bump!
  • lenwie
    lenwie Posts: 240
    Options
    Breakkie
    Boiled eggs with bacon or scramble with salmon or omelette with ham or bacon and of course you can add veggies like toms peppers etc to this

Lunch
    Ham with salad

Dinner
    grilled chicken/beef/pork/turkey/bacon etc with sautéed savoy cabbage & spinach, really quick.

add to the cabbage a teaspoon of butter along with onion sauté off, them add the mushrooms for a minute or two then the spinach, once wilted plate up and add the protein to top, yummy very low carb high protein.

and if need veggie just have a quorn fillet or something along those lines to substitute the meat
  • AngieOnTheBeach
    AngieOnTheBeach Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    This would be useful for me as well, I feel like all I eat is noodles, especially since I'm not only a student, but a poor one, and a vegetarian one :P *sits patiently and waits for responses*
  • crystal10584
    Options