Net calorie goal?

WWE_chick
WWE_chick Posts: 86
edited September 25 in Health and Weight Loss
I have been using my fitness pal for about a week or so on my phone......this is my first time logging online. My question is do I HAVE to meet my net calorie goal? Obviously I'm not supposed to go over and I haven't but according to my diary I have been under everyday. I don't purposely try to stay under but sometimes I am not hungry or full and have a lot of calories left. Is it possible to still lose weight because my mom said you have to eat the exact amount given to lose the weight.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can answer

Replies

• As long as you're eating enough to support your activity level, you'll be fine. Contrary to dietary logic, if you don't eat ENOUGH you won't lose either. What's your calorie goal without exercise?
  • taso42_DELETED
    taso42_DELETED Posts: 3,394 Member
    You should get as close as possible. A little over or a little under won't matter (within say, 50-100). A lot over or a lot under will affect your progress, but not if it's just once in a while.

Welcome, and good luck!
  • FlyEaglesGuy
    FlyEaglesGuy Posts: 436 Member
    A very good question. In order to lose weight you need to have a calorie deficit. Meaning you burn more than you consume.

The net goal is an estimate, try not to eat too many of your exercise calories back. And on the days that you don't exercise try not to get too close to your net. Obviously you must consume enough calories to fuel your body to function. Try to eat small meals every 3-4 hours. Meaning fruits etc...
  • annacataldo
    annacataldo Posts: 872 Member
    i have trouble maxing my calories too, even on days where i dont excercise... try eating higher cal foods, such as nuts, peanut butter, avacodos, etc... not all high cal foods r bad for u...
  • Newfiedan
    Newfiedan Posts: 1,517 Member