Breastfeeding and Weight Loss

Options
Hi! I am somewhat new to MFP and was wondering if anyone has lost some of their milk supply due to dieting and exercising? I started using fenugreek yesterday and it takes about 3 days to increase your milk supply. I thought I would see if anyone else was going through this.

Replies

• BrickHouse2011
    BrickHouse2011 Posts: 91 Member
    Options
    this happened to me in December. And i used Fenugreek and Blessed thistle when i was breast feeding. BUt remember when breast feeding you are to eat more calories than normal at least 100-200 more calories.
  • oddyogi
    oddyogi Posts: 1,816 Member
    Options
    Pretty sure while breastfeeding you're supposed to be doing "maintenance calories" and then ADDING 500 calories.. because when pregnant you're supposed to add 300 calories. I'm not so sure it's healthy to try and cut calories while breastfeeding.

If I were you, I'd set my calorie goal to the maintenance weight for the weight you WANT to be, and then add 500 on top of that. Exercising shouldn't be a big deal, and don't worry, if you breastfeed AND exercise, not cutting back calories shouldn't matter.
  • italiabella
    italiabella Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    I agree. You must increase your calorie intake and water. I lost weight just from breastfeeding. I also would check with your doctor before dieting. You don't want to cheat your baby out of any nutrients.
  • momma3sweetgirls
    momma3sweetgirls Posts: 743 Member
    Options
    I haven't noticed any decrease in supply...baby isn't complaining. I think if you make sure to eat an extra 300-400 calories a day, you shouldn't see much change in supply. If you lose too much weight too quickly you might have issues. Good luck!
  • pftjill
    pftjill Posts: 488
    Options