Exercise calories

Options
Hi. I'm brand new at this, so if this question has already been answered, I apologize.

I think I get the concept of our recommended calorie intake already having a deficit built in, then when we exercise, we need to make up those calories so we don't go into starvation mode.

I have two questions that I can't seem to find the answer to.

1) Wouldn't it just be easier to NOT exercise? Why should I motivate myself to exercise if I need to eat the calories that I burn anyway? I know there's benefits to exercise, but just for discussions' sake, please humor and enlighten me.

2) How close do we have to get to our recommended calorie intake to stay away from starvation mode? I would imagine most of us are short or over our recommended calorie intake. What is the acceptable range on both sides?

Replies

• nicole9898
    Options
    they add your calories from exercising into your goal calories for the day.... I did a spin class today- 350 calories... so I was able to eat an extra 350 calories... :)
  • annacataldo
    annacataldo Posts: 872 Member
    Options
    they say that 1200 is the minimum to go, anything less is starvation mode territory.

excercise will help you tone up, and ur skin tighten, etc... imagine if u just sat in one place for 2yrs, lost all ur weight by diet alone and no excercising.. i could imagine my body having extra flaps of skin and not looking how i want it to.

i hardly excercise.. few minutes a day (90min a week), sometimes going over that if i have something going on--like last week my bf's dad died so i helped the family keep their house clean and take care of the farm while they coopped with their emotions...but generally, 90min a week is it for me... i have an injury though, so i cant over exert myself without being in pain.
  • emadigan
    emadigan Posts: 89 Member
    Options