New, have a lot to lose, and need friends :)

Options
Hi. I'm new here and I've just recently found the My Fitness Pal app for my blackberry, which led me to this site. I'm quickly falling in love with it! After years of dieting and then gaining the weight back.. PLUS...I'm starting again. I had a couple of rough years recently and I comforted myself with food once again. I want to finally beat this dysfunctional addiction I have.

I joined a gym yesterday and was horrified that I could only do 3 minutes on the elliptical machine and 10 minutes on the treadmill today. I'm trying to stay positive and tell myself that those numbers will only improve and it's 13 more minutes than I would have done if I hadn't started. I also got an introduction to the weight machines and I'm very excited to begin working out on those also.

I'm still new at this and I'm still not making the healthiest choices, but I am trying to stay under my calorie count each day. Today I made a philly cheese steak and used real mayo on it because I just couldn't imagine it without that. When I had to count those 90 calories, though, it really made me think that I should be looking at some alternatives. I know I won't get very far if I don't actually LIKE the food I'm eating, so I'm still searching for that happy moderation where I enjoy the food but it's healthy and fits in with my weight loss goals.

I need friends that I can grab good ideas and inspiration from :)

Replies

• Crystal817
    Crystal817 Posts: 2,021 Member
    Options
    Welcome!

Look around the forums, there are tons and tons of threads that will help you out. Lots of food ideas too!
  • legacysh
    legacysh Posts: 464
    Options