How to train for a 5k?

Options
Hi!
After I deliver and recover (pregnant), I hope to start training for a 5k, running. I've never done one before, so I'm pretty excited, and motivated to do it.
My question is, what's the most effective way to train for a 5k? I have heard of two different ways. One being interval training (I think that's the term), where you walk for a minute, run for a minute, and build your running time. The other way I've heard, is to push as fast and hard as you can (even if that means walking in the beginning, lol), the entire 5k distance, and then work at improving your time.
I asked my husband this question, and he thought a combination of the two sounded good, but I'm still not sure.
I'm not looking to win the 5k (though that'd rock), but finishing well would be good.

Thank you so much! :)

Replies

• CFAITH_WARD
    CFAITH_WARD Posts: 281 Member
    Options
    Google c25k...it means coach to 5k......You can download it 4 mp3 pod cast weekly
  • Elizabeth_C34
    Elizabeth_C34 Posts: 6,376 Member
    Options
    Couch to 5K is a wonderful program. I used it years ago to get back into running, and am doing it again now after falling off the wagon.

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml
  • missy1970eb
    missy1970eb Posts: 1,209 Member
    Options
    hi i did 5k last yr and would recommend walking and jogging to start, especially if u have nt done any running for a while:smile:
  • AllyS7
    AllyS7 Posts: 480 Member
    Options
    I ran my first 5k not really knowing what was going on. The weeks that led up to it, I'd just run for as long as I could and walk when I needed. Before my second 5k I incorporated HIIT (high intensity interval training). It made a huge difference in how I felt and my time during the race.

I now do hill training, HIIT and tempo workouts during the week.
  • wendywilliford
    Options