Homemade meals - calorie counting

Options
Please know that I'm VERY new to calorie counting.

My wife and I make a lot of homemade meals and we generally use healthy food (but for a few ingrediants here and there). I have zero clue on how to calculate the calories or even the service size per ingrediant once it's all mixed together. Are there general tips for this? Do I need to do all my counting before its even made/cooked?

Replies

• ShellyMacchi
    ShellyMacchi Posts: 975 Member
    Options
    i use the recipe section to add it to my 'recipes' ..just put in amount of each ingredient used, as well as number of servings anticipated from the recipe... et voila! everything is counted for you! *S*
  • significance
    significance Posts: 436 Member
    Options
    Yep. Count the calories for the individual ingredients, add them together, and divide by the number of serves. This site allows you to add a recipe, which will doing the maths for you and save you having to enter all the ingredients every time you cook the same thing.
  • ronda_gettinghealthy
    ronda_gettinghealthy Posts: 777 Member
    Options
    go to the food tab and then to my recipes and it will walk you through how to put it together and give you a final answer. You can use the usda website for cals you cant find. I have tons of my foods and recipes in here because I too cook from scratch a lot. Good Luck
  • sctracy
    sctracy Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    I'll measure my food a little differently, depending on what it is.