Weight Loss and Anxiety Support

Options
Hello, I'm pretty new to MFP and trying to lose a significant amount of weight. I also suffer with anxiety. Was wondering if anyone else is in the same boat...?

Replies

• spcr0428
    spcr0428 Posts: 51
    Options
    I do! I have horrible anxiety, and need to lose and lose and lose.
  • missziathediva
    Options
    I do. It sucks :( Feel free to add me if you would like to chat.
  • gumby101ca
    gumby101ca Posts: 539 Member
    Options
    tons of support here guys, work hard and eat right .. good things will happen for you !!
  • ItsAsha
    ItsAsha Posts: 78
    Options
    I've never really suffered from anxiety, but i use to get anxious when I was going to the gym. For a long time, I would go to the gym, then sit in the parking lot and say oohhhh helll nooo and leave.

I think it's a lot of mind over matter. You have to want something really really bad, then nothing else matters. I overcame my fear of working out in front of other people, you can too :happy:

You just need to find your inner strength and let it become bigger than your inner fear :heart:
  • gottabekd
    gottabekd Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    I don't have a ton of weight, but I do have a lot of anxiety. It's escalated into full on panic attacks lately. So I can relate, in part. I find going to the gym and doing a hard workout - 30+ mins of cardio plus 30 mins of weights - really helps.
  • LilBrat71
    LilBrat71 Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    Hi There!

I had a very unfortunate incident a few years ago and was given meds in the ER that I was allergic to... ended up on life support for 3 days. I battled panic attacks for 4 years, convinced myself every single day that I was "dying again", sought more therapy that I would like to admit and just recently learned how to live with them. First, let me say that I know how debilitating they can be and how hopeless life feels.