Athlete needs to lose 15lbs in 3.5 weeks

Options
I am a competitive rower and I have a championship race coming up on May 12th. I am currently 145 lbs (I am 5'10") and I need to be 130 lbs by May 12th in order to make the lightweight category. It's very little time for quite a bit of weight, and I know that people's gut reaction will be to say that it is unsafe, or to warn me that I am crash dieting, or that it's unhealthy. I've done this before, but less drastically. I was 135 lbs a few months ago--I lose weight and gain weight very quickly.

I work out 6 days a week, essentially an hour of cardio a day. However I also overeat generally--I probably consumed, before this past week, an average of 3000-3500 calories a day, especially around exam time (I'm a college student). I love food, and I love eating.

I'm on a 1,200 calorie a day diet now, and I joined MFP to help me keep a strict count of my calories. I've lost about 2 pounds this week on this method. I'm incredibly hungry some days but I have been feeling pretty good so far, and I haven't binged or lost control.

This community and website has been really helpful, especially with information about metabolism, calories, and exercise. I really want to avoid "starvation mode"--when I first started last week I was doing 1000 or less calories a day, but I read a lot about how that such a sudden low amount of calories can set your weight loss back significantly.

My question is whether anyone has found a faster way to do this. I know that there's no "miracle" super-fast diet that will allow you to stay healthy, I'm just looking for tips to get that extra 0.5 pound off, that extra bit of motivation. I am not promoting ED or starvation, and I am not worried about getting the right nutrition (I already love fruits, vegetables, and I eat that the most) and I am in very good shape.

Has anyone gone through my same situation or something similar? And can you tell me how it went for you?