eating under my calorie goals

Options
I know this has come up a few times on this message board but I need some advice. I have been using MFP for about 3 months now and have lost 1st 3lbs (my starting weight entered into MFP profile was 4lbs lower than I originally weighed) and have regularly eaten under my calorie goal, although not always. I have started to feel incredibly bloated recently and although the scales are still telling me I have lost pounds it does not feel or look like it. Even if I am not hungry should I still eat to my calorie goal (1200)? Will I notice a difference in weight loss or will I actually put on weight?

Replies

• meganwolsker
    Options
    I would definetly not be eating under your 1200 calories. Eating less than that slows your metabolism and your body actually tries to store and hold on to fat because it thinks that you are starving it. In addition, it is almost impossible to get all of your required daily nutrients from so little calories. Eat them up!
  • mrswilson0511
    mrswilson0511 Posts: 132 Member
    Options
    you need to eat net 1200 calories at the end of the day. If you continue to go under that your body will eventually go into starvation mode and it will start storing all the calories and your metabolism will slow down
  • mare91467
    mare91467 Posts: 91 Member
    Options
    Are you watching your sodium? That will lead to bloating. Try to stay within the recommended guidelines. You would be surprised how much sodium is in diet type foods.
  • chloecox
    chloecox Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    If I start to eat my 1200 calorie goal will I start to put on weight or will it enhance weight loss? Still seems strange the idea that you have to eat to lose weight :S
  • mrswilson0511
    mrswilson0511 Posts: 132 Member
    Options