rep range for a bulk ...

Options
something I am curious about. Starting on Monday I am going to be increasing calories by 250 a day, currently at maintenance, with goal of adding about .5 pound a week over next few months. This is my first time doing a "bulk"…was going to do one last winter but chickened out because I was worried would put on "fat"…stupid I know now. ..

so anyway, just curious as to what rep range I should be aiming to hit..6 reps, 7reps, 8reps, etc...

For most of lifts now I am usually doing four sets of each by six reps. Except for squats where I have been working in 8 rep range and deadlifts I am usually in five rep range…

i do upper/lower split four days a week …so monday - upper; tuesday - lower; wens - core/light cardio; thursday - upper; friday - lower…

thanks in advance….

Replies

• NRBreit
    NRBreit Posts: 319 Member
    Options
    Hey, NDJ I've done 2 bulks over the past two winters. 1st bulk was 15 lbs. doing primarily 8-12 rep range eating 'clean' with good macros. 2nd bulk was 16 lbs. doing 5x5 style workouts eating IIFYM with the same good macros. Similar results both times. You're gonna gain fat, but honestly the cut is the easy part. Your current workouts look solid. Just let the extra calories/energy allow you additional strength gains.
  • TiberiusClaudis
    TiberiusClaudis Posts: 423 Member
    Options
    Rule of thumb is 8-12 for bulk. Your mileage may vary..works for me.

I recently read a study that volumn has more to do with it than number of sets/reps. So you pretty much get the same results if you do 4 x8 or 8 x 4. Main thing seem to be....do SOMETHING.
  • ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,136 Member
    Options

thanks for sharing that …interesting read for sure!
  • Wheelhouse15
    Wheelhouse15 Posts: 5,575 Member
    Options
    Great article as it challenges a lot of the conventional wisdom that lacked proper research. Of course, that would be a lot of things in the weight lifting world, unfortunately.