Kind of "new" here- The Benefit of Friends?

Options
jennjenn1216
jennjenn1216 Posts: 8 Member
edited October 2014 in Introduce Yourself
I've been using MFP for a little over two months now, so I'm not 'exactly' new... but I am curious about something. I see people in the message boards asking for friends, but what does it mean to have friends on here? How do they motivate each other? What can they see? Does it help with motivation and accountability?

Replies

• loopingcaterpillar
    loopingcaterpillar Posts: 152 Member
    Options
    it's great, up to each individual as to what the others can see, but if your profile and diary are open to friends you get better advice. you get to see the things people have done and what they eat and it's inspiring :P
  • SimonCypher
    SimonCypher Posts: 254 Member
    Options
    I've recently signed up to the site to keep a journal of the food I consume, I wasn't aware there was a social aspect at first. I've slowly added people / they added me and seeing their posts daily about their own food journals / exercises helps me remain focused and dedicated. If I'm struggling with anything I'm receiving such great support from friends I've met on here. In particular one friend recently said that they were reading a certain fitness magazine, I bought a copy of it and have now subscribed to it. Other peoples knowledge / advice is helping me and am thankful for the support I receive and people saying well done may seem like a small thing but it helps my mindset in that it keeps driving me on. I'm also interested in other peoples stories and what their goals area, what they're doing to work towards their goals and if there was any support that I could offer them. :smiley:
  • jessicapk
    jessicapk Posts: 574 Member
    Options