Options
SwashBlogger
SwashBlogger Posts: 395 Member
Did/will you get a flu shot this year? Why or why not

Replies

• teresamwhite
    teresamwhite Posts: 947 Member
    Options
    Yes, i am getting one this week...I work in a hospital so I will come into contact with it for sure this season, and the flu sucks. i also get the pneumonia shot every 5 years,too.
  • DianeFrannie
    Options
    I get a flu shot every year. I almost died in 2011 from pneumonia with complications so I take every precaution available. One of my biggest goals is to stay out of hospitals. :p
  • EMTFreakGirl
    EMTFreakGirl Posts: 597 Member
    Options
    Of course, first, because I spend my days dealing with sick people and don't want to become one of them; and second, because I have to, job requirement.
  • NataBost
    NataBost Posts: 418 Member
    Options
    Busiest quarter for me, so I can't afford to be laid up. I had the flu really bad years ago. Never again.
  • zyxst
    zyxst Posts: 9,134 Member
    Options
    No, because I don't want to.
  • Jenne50
    Jenne50 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Got it already. Not because I am worried about getting sick, but because I don't want to make those around me sick - like my elderly father or my very young grandchildren.
  • tincanonastring
    tincanonastring Posts: 3,944 Member
    Options
    Will I get it? Already did.

Why? It's the right thing to do, not only for me and my family, but for society as a whole.

We have a 2-week old daughter who can't be innoculated yet due to her age, so my wife, our son, and myself all have gotten our jabs to protect her. We have a duty as humans to protect those who are weaker. When it comes to vaccine-preventable illnesses, those of us who can get an immunization should be doing our part to protect those who cannot.
  • wolverine66
    wolverine66 Posts: 3,780 Member
    Options