I'm declaring winter to be "Weight Loss Season"

Options
For the last several years I showed the greatest weight loss success right around the holidays. That's counter to what everybody else seems to experience, but now I think I've figured out why.

I work in construction, and this past has been the worst. Most of my meals were fast food, eaten en-route to or from a construction site. I actually gained 12 lbs :s Now my construction projects are coming to a close, I'm able to start my diet again. It's just an unavoidable fact that I can't focus on fitness during the summer.

So here's my new approach: I'm accepting my summer difficulties. And I'm going to make the most of winter. I used to set a goal and think that I'm just going to keep at it until I reach it or burn out. This time I'm gonna set a goal I can meet before next summer. Then I'll set a maintenance goal for next summer. Then a new weight loss goal next winter.

I put it in writing, let's see if it works :)

Replies

• fatcity66
    fatcity66 Posts: 1,544 Member
    Options
    I don't work construction, but I seem to lose more weight during the winter as well. And yes, this is the opposite of most people. I think it may be because I love the cooler weather, and it encourages me to be more active. My body also may burn more calories keeping me warm, but that's just a hunch. I often lose weight over the holidays, and when I tell people that, they look at me like I'm crazy. ;)
  • jrose1982
    jrose1982 Posts: 366 Member
    Options
    It's not just me, then. Maybe it's just us? ;)
    Just in the half hour since I wrote my post I'm getting quite excited for winter. We got our first snow today. Bring it on!
  • robinsvitakjones
    robinsvitakjones Posts: 20 Member
    Options