Um why did I lose weight?

Options
OK so I have been counting calories, exercising for the past 2 months. You guys may have read some of my other posts about hypothyroid. Well anyways, the past 1 1/2 - 2 wks I gave up and ate whatever I wanted. Including, pepsi, a TON of candy, JUNK!! Well I stepped on the scale just for the fun of it and I am 4 lbs lighter. I have not lost a single pound since eating healthy, and BAM I'm 4 lbs lighter. I don't understand. The only thing I can think of is maybe my thyroid meds are finally working??? I'm so confused!!!! If this keeps up I will just continue eating junk hahah!!

Replies

• khrys1
    khrys1 Posts: 444 Member
    Options
    Maybe your system got used to having low-calorie healthy meals, and eating whatever you wanted kind of "shocked" it into moving.... I don't think continuing to eat like that will have continued good results, though, so maybe if you start eating less/healthier again, the scale will continue to move....
  • jaydensmommy2010
    jaydensmommy2010 Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    Also, before these past 2 weeks I was exercising 5-6 days a week. Now I haven't been exercising as much, but still doing it and I lost weight. I just don't understand!
  • Live4HerSmile
    Options
    If you were eating too few calories before your body would cling to every calorie you did eat, so increasing the calorie intake allowed it to let go of some of them. Your body doesn't know what you will eat like today or tomorrow, it only knows what you have fed it in the past. So when your body thinks there are not a lot of calories to be had, it holds onto everything, when you eat a little more it will let go of what it was holding on to because it assumes that it will get the same amount the next day. This is why Body for Life (and a lot of other plans) have an "Off Day" where you can eat what you want.

Your body will do the same thing with water, if thinking of it that way makes more sense.
  • AlsDonkBoxSquat