Running & Breathing

Options
Ok, I had some fantastic replies to my post yesterday on running with friends/music so I'm going to try it again to get some responses about breathing while running. This is my biggest struggle when I run. One of the tips I got was that if I felt I was gasping for breath I was running to fast. When I started I started slow and it worked. I was able to breath without gasping which led me to actually sticking with it! I've been running for about 3 or 4 months now and I am getting better and stronger. I'm trying to breath deeply in through my nose and out through my mouth, but this takes a lot of concentration and sometimes I get the feeling like I WANT to gasp for breath. Is this natural and will it ever go away? Its sort of scary to be honest. I don't think I'm going too fast either. Thanks for your thoughts.

Replies

• sjaplo
    sjaplo Posts: 974 Member
    Options
    I mouth breath - do what's comfortable. Also check out Runnersworld.com and do a search for breathing.

cheers
  • LoneWolfRunner
    LoneWolfRunner Posts: 1,160 Member
    Options
    I mostly breathe out of my mouth... I just do what comes easy and natural for me....
  • goanothermile
    goanothermile Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    If you are gasping, then you're heart rate is too high. You need to slow down.

Go with what is comfortable. Don't overthink it.

I believe that I inhale and exhale using BOTH my nose and mouth.
  • SonicDeathMonkey80
    SonicDeathMonkey80 Posts: 4,489 Member
    Options
    Just breathe. Your body does a good job of it without you needing to think. If you were being chased I'm pretty sure you wouldn't really care about a nonsense breathing pattern.
  • hermann341
    hermann341 Posts: 443 Member
    Options
    Mostly breath through the mouth, but I can also do the in through mouth & nose, and out through the mouth thing. Lungs fill a little more rapidly that way, and helps prevent side stitches.
  • alikonda