Weights on a Budget

Options
Ok, I'm guilty of scrolling through instragram and admiring all the fit chicks. They are always posed in the gym, drinking protein shakes, and dead lifting. :o Ok, I'm a poor teacher. I can't afford a gym membership. I DO however have kettlebells, and some dumbbells. My kettle bells are 5, 10, and 20 lbs and I have some dumbbells that range from 8 to 25 pounds. I have a pilates ball and a treadmill. With only these tools, can I look fabulous too? I looked into getting some heavier weights, but right now, this is all I'm working with. :neutral_face:

Replies

• FitnessTrainer69
    FitnessTrainer69 Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    You'll be limited but you can achieve a nice figure with these. Have a meal plan and throw in some cardio and your set.
  • browndog1410
    Options
    Weights help but aren't necessary. Most of my gains have been achieved via body weight exercises e.g. the best exercise for lat width are pull-ups and they really work the arms as well. Handstand pushups are great for shoulders etc.
    If you want to add to resistance without buying more dumb bells why not use resistance bands. These substantially add to the difficulty without the cost. You can even take them when you travel just in case the hotel gym is not very good.
  • h7463
    h7463 Posts: 626 Member
    Options
    Hi! Check out all the video workouts by Jillian Michaels. Most of them are posted free on youtube. Some are debating her skills and form on some of the exercises, but her workouts generally work out! I'm a fan of her training, and you have all the weights you'll ever need.
    Watch your calories, give it all in the workouts, and you'll get lean and tight allover....and I am not kidding....lol

Good luck!
  • nayers86
    Options