Getting judged after the loss

Options

Replies

• m1ssannthropy
    m1ssannthropy Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    I'm so happy with this topic!! my neighbours who see me often, all want to have me make their meal plans and ask me for help (and tell me I'm pretty now and should stop losing weight)... but yeah, I was asked by some people if I lost this weight because I wanted to or if I am sick. I'm like "ehhhh". My physical therapist and GP are happy for me and I'm still well in the overweight BMI and lost 37 kilo since last year february, so no quick sprint, except that I've been doing PiYO, Kettlebell and Yoga for the past 5 months, so getting muscle and loving those upper arms getting tighter and just my physical strength increasing. I was getting mixed signals from her, I had to wonder if I look sick haha! I'm so happy more people experience this and I'm not alone... after I told her I was losing weight on purpose she did want to know how and has joined MFP ;) but the "you look pretty like you are now so you can stop losing weight" can be a bit annoying, I'm not a slave to my BMI but my waist line is not a healthy size yet and I only just crossed the border from obese to overweight weight size - my physical size is a 10-12 us size. Want to get leaner and stronger, trying to put more focus on getting the body fat percentage down.

...and Go you!! well done!! :smiley:
  • Tom319
    Tom319 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    SideSteel wrote: »
    Additionally, I believe that most of the time, people actually mean it as a compliment when they say that you're too thin. That probably sounds crazy, but with the negative stigma that fat has, and how hard it is to lose fat, I think your friends/family probably don't mean to be hurtful when they say "you've lost too much weight!".

^This!! They think its what you want to hear.

• Trishism
    Trishism Posts: 79 Member
    edited October 2014
    Options