Struggling to lose more weight after maintaining

Options
I am presently trying to lose a few pounds, as I have been maintaining for about 6 months and because of a couple stints of traveling, I reached the top of my maintenance range, when I am way more comfortable being at or near the bottom of it. So, for the last month or so, I've been attempting to lose those darn few pounds and not getting too far. I've probably lost half a pound in that time. . . .

I track calories quite carefully and honestly, though perhaps part of the problem is that I've been logging the full time for some of my exercise activities when I sometimes suspect the calorie burn estimate MFP provides is a little high. I'm going to be more careful from now on-- won't be logging the full time period for many exercises. I do weigh and measure food, and rarely forget to log things.

The biggest problem is that I have also been finding it incredibly difficult to eat an amount that keeps me in even a small (200 calorie) deficit-- which is frustrating because when I lost all the weight before, it was not that hard to eat the same amount! Is there something about being in maintenance for a while that makes it way harder to lose weight again afterwards?!

Argh! Any insights, suggestions, or just commiseration are welcome!

Do I need to get a heart rate monitor or Fitbit to help track the exercise? I didn't seem to need one before, or while I maintained for 6 months. Ugh! Not sure what to do.

Replies

• BombshellPhoenix
    BombshellPhoenix Posts: 1,693 Member
    Options
    Leptin levels will probably make you a little hungry when you go back to a deficit. That would potentially make it more difficult if you're feeling a tad peckish.

I would try to eat 50-75% of exercise calories instead of all of them and wait it out a few weeks and see where the weight trends.

After being in a maintenance intake, you should be in good shape to lose weight. It just comes down to finding that deficit amount