How often to do lifting workouts?

Options
Hi all,

I am just getting into heavier weight workouts-- I just started last week. I have read (in NROLFW) that one should do a workout at least twice a week to see results, but have often heard it's better to do 3-4 workouts a week.

I am wondering a few things: would those who lift regularly agree that some results can be seen from weight workouts done 2x a week? If so, about how long it would take to notice results? I am still trying to lose some fat/weight so am at a small deficit right now, and I run or do other cardio several days a week.

And, would more often than 2x a week be better? Might, say, 3x a week allow me to get stronger and have nicer muscles more quickly? (I do understand that "nicer muscles" will be newbie gains only, in the near future-- if I see any at all--since I am eating at a deficit right now).

I have to admit I find cardio (outdoors) way more enjoyable than lifting, which is why I'm wondering if 2x a week is enough, as I get very bored working out indoors. I do want to get stronger and start the body recomposition process, though, which I why I have started doing weights.

OK, I think that's all. Thanks!

Replies

• arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,573 Member
    Options
    I can't really imagine being SATISFIED with twice a week but I don't know. Some of the more experienced lifters on here will give you better answers. My opinion would be-it's better than nothing, if you're doing it right. But, 3-4 would be best.

I'm interested in hearing what others think on this.
  • Linnaea27
    Linnaea27 Posts: 639 Member
    Options