Any runners AND lifters?

Options
I've been lifting for several years after reaching my weight loss goal and maintaining. Became the new fitness challenge and I was hooked. Then 3 years ago I did a 5K for fun and got hooked on challenging myself with distances. Six half marathons later, I'm now training for a full in January. BUT, I'm not willing to give up lifting (as opposed to lots of runners I know who never lift and only run). I have a running coach designing my run training, and I have 2 days a week to do full body lifting. He's not really a strength coach though so he doesn't program that. Wondering how other runners approach their strength programming while training for a big race - program recommendation?

Replies

• jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    I cut back on my lifting during race season (not entirely, but significantly), then ramp it back up during the off season.

I guess I'm "lucky" like that, that my race season is only 4-5 months long so I can lift the rest of the year.
  • Amie0403
    Options
    I focus on arms, back, and abs while race training because it's important to allow your legs some recovery time. Lifting is basically two days per week, not before or after my long run. That said, I would NOT let your legs go completely since some conditioning (squats w/o weights, side leg raises, etc.) will help prevent injury.
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    edited November 2014
    Options
    I find the same thing as Jackson. To train properly for a marathon takes at least four runs a week, one of them a long run -- longer than you are used to. If you are going to be lifting twice a week too, you won't be resting enough. Your running will begin to suffer, soon. The marathon is a very long distance; it is more than two half marathons. I might suggest you lift once a week, and have two days of rest. You will be increasing your mileage, after all. Good luck.
  • G8rRay
    G8rRay Posts: 89 Member