Women: Anybody else refuse to weigh in during their period?

I know there's such thing as bloating and water weight. But does that actually make a difference on the scale or is this in my head?

Replies

• weightlosstrainer
    weightlosstrainer Posts: 21 Member
    As a trainer, I often end up knowing my clients "cycle" because they will often gain up to 10lbs of water retention starting a week before their cycle begins. It is not in your head, weight gain is common during that time of the month, just know that it is not permanent and stay well hydrated.
  • TheVirgoddess
    TheVirgoddess Posts: 4,535 Member
    I weigh daily - shark week or no. And yes, it does absolutely change your weight. Mine is usually just a few pounds up, but for some it's a lot higher.
  • beamer0821
    beamer0821 Posts: 488 Member
    I've never experienced my period making a big difference on the scale.
    imo its an excuse/myth, whatever you want to call it. =)
  • beamer0821
    10lbs? come on...
  • Lasmartchika
    Lasmartchika Posts: 3,440 Member
    beamer0821 wrote: »

giphy.gif
  • weightlosstrainer
    As a trainer, I often end up knowing my clients "cycle" because they will often gain up to 10lbs of water retention starting a week before their cycle begins. It is not in your head, weight gain is common during that time of the month, just know that it is not permanent and stay well hydrated.

Ahh! Praise baby jesus! I've been feeling somewhat discouraged.

• malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member

Everyone's different. I only gain two pounds right before TOM, but others can easily gain 5-10.
  • beamer0821
    i guess i should qualify big difference. i can accept 2 lbs or less. I'm just not buying 10lbs sorry. i know that will drive people bananas that i can't quite possibly fathom 10lbs but its true i can't. lol