Fat loss

Options
Hi, I've been dieting/working out for about 10 months now and have been generally successful, losing around 30 pounds and gaining a significant amount of muscle and lowering my %fat to almost half of what it used to be. However it seems like this last stretch to lose more of my excess body fat has been taken exponentially longer than any other part of the process. During the first months I had a very low calorie diet, about 1200 calories a day, and I went up a bit from that when I started lifting weights. In an attempt to lose the remaining fat, mostly around my thighs and chest, I tried to go back to the 1200 calories a day, but it doesn't seem to be working.

Could anyone give me some tips on how to get rid of these last bits of fat? Tips on both diet or exercise are greatly appreciated.

I am 5'7" 1/2
140 pounds

Replies

• arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,573 Member
    Options
    Don't go back down to 1200. At this point you only want to be losing .5 a week right? It's just slow when you get close to goal. The deficit shouldn't be as large and there is less room for error. Keep up the weight training.
  • Psychgrrl
    Psychgrrl Posts: 3,177 Member
    Options
    Have you tried tweaking your macros? Maybe adding a little more protein and reducing simple carbs (white bread, pasta, etc.)? Maybe a little more healthy fat and fiber?
  • missdibs1
    missdibs1 Posts: 1,092 Member
    Options
    Go to iifym calculator and enter your stats honestly. Then I second the slowly play with macros. I find too high protein causes ME to stall. Perhaps you need to rethink your intake ?
  • kelly_e_montana
    kelly_e_montana Posts: 1,999 Member
    Options
    1) Start lifting heavy if you aren't already. There is no point in a 1200 calorie diet if you are lifting heavy though and there is little point in lifting heavy on a 1200 calorie diet. 2) Tweak your macros (^^^ i'm opposite--i do better with more protein).