Food before exercise?

Options
I've recently started going to a spinning class (okay, I've done one and I'm carrying on from here). The first one damn near killed me but I'm determined.

Should I eat before the class? And how much before? And what sort thing? I'm new to exercise (beyond walking and swimming) and don't want to make myself ill by damaging myself.

Thank you in advance!

Replies

• peachyfuzzle
    peachyfuzzle Posts: 1,122 Member
    Options
    Pre/Post workout meal benefits are largely a myth. You should eat when it makes you comortable. If you find that eating before a workout session makes you feel ill, then don't do it. Some people love going at it on an empty stomach while others are the opposite.

Personally, I have to eat just a little something within a couple hours of working out. If I don't, I find that I become super lethargic.
  • Capt_Apollo
    Capt_Apollo Posts: 9,026 Member
    Options
    it's going to take some experimentation to figure out what works for you. there is no clear cut answer.

is this a morning or evening spin class?

personally, i have a banana or an apple about 30 minutes before a work out. if it's a morning work out, i will also have a cup of coffee.
  • redfisher1974
    redfisher1974 Posts: 614 Member
    Options
    Try it both ways and see what works for you.
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    edited November 2014
    Options
    I have either had breakfast or if its later then a banana and some water to make sure i have some carbs to give me emough to get through and am hydrated. What apollo and fisher said about just trying with and without to see which suits. If you are going to eat something then it needs time to get into your system.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    Entirely up to you...
  • harriyot
    harriyot Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    Thank you, everyone. I will try the next session on a banana and see how I go.
  • bwogilvie