Body recomposition

Options
I am trying to lose weight. I have been lifting for about 4-5 months now. I have been slowly losing weight. I have heard several people talk about recomposition. Gaining lean muscle while losing body fat. This would be ideal! I'm starting to get a bit discouraged because I haven't been losing as much lately, which in return makes me start to slack off. So I'm thinking about switching things up to get me back on track.

I came across this article: http://blog.myfitnesspal.com/2014/11/the-basics-of-body-recomposition-how-to-lose-fat-gain-muscle-at-the-same-time/?utm_source=MFP&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=weekly_20141117&mkt_tok=3RkMMJWWfF9wsRonvKXOZKXonjHpfsXx6ewqX6W1lMI/0ER3fOvrPUfGjI4ARMViI+SLDwEYGJlv6SgFSrTFMblm0LgLXhM=

I'm sure many of you have read it as well. So I calculated the calories I should eat on rest days vs training days. On rest days I would eat 2097 calories! And then on training days I would eat 2680! I feel like this is a lot of calories and I am afraid if I eat this much I will gain back the fat I have worked so hard to get rid of. Right now I have my calories goal set at 1830 a day and I eat my exercise cals back.

Anybody else doing this? What are your thoughts? I would love to hear from people this has worked for. Or should I continue to eat at a deficit to lose weight and continue to lift to try to preserve as much muscle as possible?

Replies

• redfisher1974
    redfisher1974 Posts: 614 Member
    Options
    Just eat at a slight deficit and lift heavy stuff to keep as much muscle as possible.
  • bschoo01
    bschoo01 Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    I figured most people would say that... Thanks for your response :) The idea of gaining muscle and losing fat at the same time is just so tempting! I would love to still hear from people who are using this method before I make a decision.
  • redfisher1974
    redfisher1974 Posts: 614 Member
    edited November 2014
    Options