Need Help!! Strengthening exercises for pole dancing

Options
Hey guys and Gals,

I have been attending pole dancing classes on and off since 2011, but have always given up at the intermediate level; where we start to learn to invert using our core ( I just can't get my butt up in the air). I believe the problem with me is threefold:

1. I have ZERO arm/back strength needed to hold my weight up
2. I have a very weak core
3. I am quite overweight (70kg at 165cm)

I would love to hear from you guys on the best workout routines that will help me target these three problems I may have.

Some things I have in mind right now are: assisted pullups/chin ups, lat pulldowns, ab workouts, tricep dips and bicep curls. However, I have no idea how to match them so I don't hurt myself, and in what order, how many reps/sets. Also, any bodyweight workouts I can do at home would be great too.

I would prefer to split these workouts 3 times a week, and I will be poling once a week.

Thanks a lot in advance everyone =)

Replies

• _Waffle_
    _Waffle_ Posts: 13,049 Member
    Options
  • kelly_e_montana
    kelly_e_montana Posts: 1,999 Member
    Options