Had my RMR tested and it is 300 less than what the BMR calculator says it should be..........

Options
I am new to FP and just wondering how to account for this, as the totals it gives me (trying to improve my body composition - really only about 5 pounds) are 'off' because of this. I had the test conducted by a registered dietitian using the MEDGEM (I had to Google it to see that it is legitimate) and want to use that as my base calories, since it is legitimately what I am burning.
-
Obviously my bigger question is how to raise my metabolism back to where it was before (over the last year, something has happened as I have gained 5 pounds after being consistent for like 20 YEARS! I have always worked out and been in shape, so never a problem with that). My second question is how to account for this on the MFP food log when it gives my goal for the day.

Any thoughts on BOTH questions??

Lady

Replies

• segacs
    segacs Posts: 4,599 Member
    Options
    All calculators are averages. They won't necessarily be accurate for you in particular. They offer a starting point for people who want to create a plan, but with all calculators it's important to gauge against actual results.

Anyway, BMR/RMR is not all that important. What's important is TDEE, or what you're effectively burning each day based on your normal daily activities and workouts.

Just go into MFP and custom set your goal for your estimated TDEE minus whatever deficit you're looking to go into. (With only 5 pounds to lose, you probably don't want to target anything more than 0.5lbs/week).
  • Mouse_Potato
    Mouse_Potato Posts: 1,503 Member
    Options
    ^^^Agreed. My BMR is estimated to be just under 1300, but my TDEE is 2100. As a result, I lose consistently when I net 1800 (I am also on that last 5 pounds).
  • habit365
    habit365 Posts: 174
    Options