First marathon

Options
Hey all - looking for any advice to start training for my first marathon and what to expect or join up with others considering or already training for a full!!! I've ran a few halfs, relays and shorter races but this is a big deal :smile:

Replies

• glevinso
    glevinso Posts: 1,895 Member
    Options
    Best advice I can give, without knowing much about you, is grab a plan off the Hal Higdon site and follow it as best you can. His plans are great for getting people through their first marathon.

Expect a LOT of running. 500-1000 miles in preparation. A few pairs of shoes, and towards the end, a lot of planning around the training, some good ole' fashioned race anxiety and jitters, then on race day it will be epic, it will be painful, but it will be worth it.

• mykaylis
    mykaylis Posts: 320 Member
    Options
    i have no experience, but i have enjoyed hal higdon and jeff galloway for books on the topic. make sure you have at least 2 pairs of shoes. i have done a short-distance run in an event that included marathoners and the experience was incredible. good luck to you!
  • _Waffle_
    _Waffle_ Posts: 13,049 Member
    Options
    Hey all - looking for any advice to start training for my first marathon and what to expect or join up with others considering or already training for a full!!! I've ran a few halfs, relays and shorter races but this is a big deal :smile:
    Expect to understand that 13.1 is a pretty short run.

I'm loosely following a plan by Jeff Gaudette off RunKeeper.

http://runkeeper.com/fitness-class/running-marathon/10?menuSelection=TRAINER&sponsorId=6&trainerSlug=jeff-gaudette
  • stealthq
    stealthq Posts: 4,298 Member
    Options
    _Waffle_ wrote: »
    Expect to understand that 13.1 is a pretty short run.

I'm loosely following a plan by Jeff Gaudette off RunKeeper.

http://runkeeper.com/fitness-class/running-marathon/10?menuSelection=TRAINER&sponsorId=6&trainerSlug=jeff-gaudette