Activity level

Options
I'm a student. I go to school at night, do one hour of barre class or yoga a day, do daily house work (laundry, dishes) & occasionally walk my dogs. I do take naps... Does this sound lightly active or active? Sitting at a desk for school isn't exactly active...

Replies

• nxd10
    nxd10 Posts: 4,570 Member
    Options
    If your activities vary over the week - and most students' do - it is probably easier to set yourself at sedentary and then log your exercise classes. Daily housework is just part of sedentary. You can log your dog walk - 3 miles per hour dog walk.

It is not active.
  • hummingbirdhope
    hummingbirdhope Posts: 101 Member
    Options
    nxd10 wrote: »
    If your activities vary over the week - and most students' do - it is probably easier to set yourself at sedentary and then log your exercise classes. Daily housework is just part of sedentary. You can log your dog walk - 3 miles per hour dog walk.

It is not active.

So even though I do the barre class every day, sedentRy?
  • SueInAz
    SueInAz Posts: 6,592 Member
    Options
    Sedentary is probably the best fit for you. You then would log your walks and your barre or yoga class each time.
  • VeryKatie
    VeryKatie Posts: 5,952 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    SueInAz wrote: »
    Sedentary is probably the best fit for you. You then would log your walks and your barre or yoga class each time.

It's also a safe way to start out. You can monitor how quickly you're losing weight (after the first 3 weeks to allow for your water weight drops). If you lose more than you have MFP set to on average over several weeks, then increase your exercise to lightly active and stop logging your walks and classes.

If you're still losing too quickly, increase it again to active. I'd give it 3 - 4 weeks between switching the activity level each time. Do that until your weight loss matches the rate you set to MFP.
  • 5stringjeff
    5stringjeff Posts: 790 Member