The mindset of maintenance without logging

Options
I have been maintaining for about two years, but only six months without logging. During the time I was losing, I tried to read everything I could find about healthy eating, weight loss and exercise. I was on MFP all hours of the day. I memorized menus, calories of foods, created lower calorie recipes of my favorites. Because of that mental dedication, I feel I can eyeball and even feel if I am overeating. I believe I can tell if I have a healthy diet. I say "believe" because I am not logging. I do step on the scale a couple of times a week, with clothes on (I used to strip off before stepping on, not just once a day, but several times a day, LOL) My point is, take your time reading and learning, weight loss is a hard, tedious process, use that tedious time to learn. If you go back to your old habits as soon as you reach your goal, you will be right back here, trying to lose weight again. I hope this doesn't read like a brag post, there have been several threads that make it scary to stop losing weight. It is not scary. It is a happy place.

Replies

• ryanhorn
    ryanhorn Posts: 355 Member
    Options
    Thank you for sharing this! I hope that one day, I'll feel comfortable enough to let go of the logging and maintain without it as well. Good luck with everything!
  • BigGuy47
    BigGuy47 Posts: 1,768 Member
    Options
    I maintain without logging. I simply got tired of tracking. A lot of people don't mind tracking and plan on continuing to track forever. Either way there's no need to fear maintaining.

The rub with hitting the goal is too often it signals a finish line. "I hit my goal, I'm done!". I think it's important to set a new goal. A specific fitness goal can help with staying focused.
  • RaspberryTickleChicken
    Options
    I think the ONE thing I've learned from this wt loss / maintaining journey is that we are all different & there is no wrong or right way to go about things.